Jeff Daniels, Annette Bening, Laurie Metcalf, Bryan Cranston among nominees for 2019 Tony Awards

first_imgJeff Daniels in “To Kill a Mockingbird”/Photo: Julieta Cervantes(NEW YORK) — The nominees for the 73rd annual Tony Awards were announced Tuesday morning, and once again, Hollywood was well-represented on the Great White Way.Oscar nominees Annette Bening, Adam Driver, Laurie Metcalf, Bryan Cranston, and Jeff Daniels are among those who were recognized in the leading actor categories. The musical Hadestown led the pack with 14 nominations; Daniels’ revival of To Kill a Mockingbird came in second with nine nominations.In other Broadway nods to Hollywood, the musical adaptation of the movie Beetlejuice nabbed eight nods.  The stage adaptation of the movie Network, starring Cranston, scored five nominations, and the live-action version of King Kong scored three. A musical based on the classic Dustin Hoffman comedy Tootsie also received several nods.Pop music was also represented, via The Cher Show — a musical based on the life of Cher — and Ain’t Too Proud, the story of the Motown group The Temptations, both of which received a number of  nominations.James Corden hosts the 2019 Tony Awards live on CBS on June 9; the telecast will be broadcast live from New York City’s Radio City Music Hall.Here’s a list of the major nominations:Best PlayChoir Boy – Tarell Alvin McCraneyThe Ferryman – Jez ButterworthGary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus – Taylor MacInk – James GrahamWhat the Constitution Means to Me – Heidi SchreckBest MusicalAin’t Too Proud – The Life and Times of The TemptationsBeetlejuiceHadestownThe PromTootsieBest Revival of a MusicalKiss Me, KateRodgers and Hammerstein’s Oklahoma!Best Revival of a PlayArthur Miller’s All My SonsThe Boys in the Band – Mart CrowleyBurn ThisTorch Song –  Harvey FiersteinThe Waverly Gallery – Kenneth LonerganBest Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a PlayPaddy Considine – The FerrymanBryan Cranston – NetworkJeff Daniels – To Kill a MockingbirdAdam Driver – Burn ThisJeremy Pope – Choir BoyBest Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a PlayAnnette Bening – All My SonsLaura Donnelly – The FerrymanElaine May – The Waverly GalleryJanet McTeer – Bernhardt/HamletLaurie Metcalf – Hillary and ClintonHeidi Schreck – What the Constitution Means to MeBest Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a MusicalBrooks Ashmanskas – The PromDerrick Baskin – Ain’t Too ProudAlex Brightman – BeetlejuiceDamon Daunno – Oklahoma!Santino Fontana – TootsieBest Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a MusicalStephanie J. Block – The Cher ShowCaitlin Kinnunen – The PromBeth Leavel – The PromEva Noblezada – HadestownKelli O’Hara – Kiss Me, KateBest Book of a MusicalAin’t Too Proud – Dominique MorisseauBeetlejuice – Scott Brown and Anthony KingHadestown – Anaïs MitchellThe Prom – Bob Martin and Chad BeguelinTootsie – Robert HornBest Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a PlayBertie Carvel – InkRobin De Jesús – The Boys in the BandGideon Glick – To Kill a MockingbirdBrandon Uranowitz – Burn ThisBenjamin Walker – All My SonsBest Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a PlayFionnula Flanagan – The FerrymanCelia Keenan-Bolger – To Kill a MockingbirdKristine Nielsen –  Gary: A Sequel to Titus AndronicusJulie White – Gary: A Sequel to Titus AndronicusRuth Wilson – King LearBest Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a MusicalLilli Cooper – TootsieAmber Gray – HadestownSarah Stiles – TootsieAli Stroker – Oklahoma!Mary Testa – Oklahoma!Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a MusicalAndre De Shields – HadestownAndy Grotelueschen – TootsiePatrick Page –  HadestownJeremy Pope – Ain’t Too ProudEphraim Sykes – Ain’t Too ProudBest Direction of a PlayRupert Goold – InkSam Mendes – The FerrymanBartlett Sher – To Kill a MockingbirdIvo van Hove – NetworkGeorge C. Wolfe – Gary: A Sequel to Titus AndronicusBest Direction of a MusicalRachel Chavkin – HadestownScott Ellis – TootsieDaniel Fish – Oklahoma!Des McAnuff – Ain’t Too ProudCasey Nicholaw – The PromBest Original Score (Music and/or Lyrics) Written for the TheatreBe More Chill – Joe IconisBeetlejuice – Eddie PerfectHadestown – Anaïs MitchellThe Prom – Matthew Sklar and Chad BeguelinTo Kill a Mockingbird – Adam GuettelTootsie – David YazbekBest ChoreographyCamille A. Brown – Choir BoyWarren Carlyle – Kiss Me, KateDenis Jones – TootsieDavid Neumann – HadestownSergio Trujillo – Ain’t Too ProudBest Scenic Design of a MusicalRobert Brill and Peter Nigrini – Ain’t Too ProudPeter England – King KongRachel Hauck – HadestownLaura Jellinek – Oklahoma!David Korins – BeetlejuiceBest Scenic Design of a PlayMiriam Buether, To Kill a MockingbirdBunny Christie, InkRob Howell, The FerrymanSanto Loquasto, Gary: A Sequel to Titus AndronicusJan Versweyveld, NetworkBest Costume Design of a PlayRob Howell, The FerrymanToni-Leslie James, Bernhardt/HamletClint Ramos, Torch SongAnn Roth, Gary: A Sequel to Titus AndronicusAnn Roth, To Kill a MockingbirdBest Costume Design of a MusicalMichael Krass, HadestownWilliam Ivey Long, BeetlejuiceWilliam Ivey Long, TootsieBob Mackie, The Cher ShowPaul Tazewell, Ain’t Too ProudCopyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.last_img